Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Ph.D.

Portrait of Kathleen Hall Jamieson
Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication
Director, Annenberg Public Policy Center; Program Director, Annenberg Retreat at Sunnylands

Kathleen Hall Jamieson is the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication, the Walter and Leonore Director of the university’s Annenberg Public Policy Center, and Program Director of the Annenberg Retreat at Sunnylands.

Jamieson has authored or co-authored 16 books, most recently Cyberwar: How Russian Hackers and Trolls Helped Elect a President (Oxford University Press), which won the 2019 R.R. Hawkins Award from the Association of American Publishers and was published in a revised paperback edition by Oxford University Press in June 2020. Including Cyberwar, six of the books that Jamieson has authored or co-authored have received a total of 12 political science or communication book awards (Packaging the Presidency, Eloquence in an Electronic Age, Spiral of Cynicism, Presidents Creating the Presidency, and The Obama Victory.) She recently co-edited The Oxford Handbook of Political Communication and The Oxford Handbook of the Science of Science Communication.

Jamieson has won university-wide teaching awards at each of the three universities at which she has taught and has delivered the American Political Science Association’s Ithiel de Sola Pool Lecture, the National Communication Association’s Arnold Lecture, and the NASEM Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Henry and Bryna David Lecture. For her contributions to the study of political communication, she received the American Political Science Association’s Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award in 1995. Her paper “Implications of the Demise of ‘Fact’ in Political Discourse” received the American Philosophical Society’s 2016 Henry Allen Moe Prize in the Humanities.

Jamieson’s work has been funded by the FDA and the MacArthur, Ford, Carnegie, Pew, Robert Wood Johnson, Packard, and Annenberg Foundations. She is the co-founder of FactCheck.org and its subsidiary site, SciCheck, and director of The Sunnylands Constitution Project, which has produced more than 30 award-winning films on the Constitution for high school students.

Jamieson is a member of the American Philosophical Society and the National Academy of Sciences, and a Distinguished Scholar of the National Communication Association. She also is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Political and Social Science, and the International Communication Association. She is a past president of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.

In April 2020, the National Academy of Sciences awarded Jamieson its most prestigious award, the Public Welfare Medal, for her “non-partisan crusade to ensure the integrity of facts in public discourse and development of the science of scientific communication to promote public understanding of complex issues.” In January 2021, she was the recipient of the Benjamin Franklin Founder Award.

Selected Publications


Uploaded on Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 10:38am
A panel hosted by the Annenberg School for Communication and the University of Pennsylvania Faculty Senate People on all sides of the political...

Related News

Courses Taught

COMM 226 – Introduction to Political Communication and Political Communication Research.
This course is an introduction to the field of political communication, conceptual approaches to analyzing communication in various forms, including advertising, speech making, campaign debates, and candidates' and office-holders' uses of news. The focus of this course is on the interplay in the U.S. between television and politics. The course includes a history of televised campaign practices from the 1952 presidential contest through the election of 2012.

COMM 710: Seminar in Rhetorical Criticism: Understanding the Rhetoric of the Presidency



Teaching Awards

University of Maryland

  • Certificate for excellence in teaching awarded by Pan-Hellenic Council and Student Government Association, University of Maryland, 1979

  • Maryland Board of Education Award for innovative internship program (with Andrew Wolvin), 1981

  • Distinguished Scholar - Teacher Award, University of Maryland, 1981-82

University of Texas

  • Graduate Student awarded "You're Someone Special Award" University of Texas, Dept. of Speech Communication, 1988.

  • "Eyes of Texas" University of Texas Undergraduate Teaching Award, 1989.

University of Pennsylvania

  • The Greek System, University of Pennsylvania Outstanding Professor Award, 1996

  • Golden Key Honor Society, 1997

  • Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching, 1998

  • Friars Senior Society Award - University of Pennsylvania Outstanding Faculty Award, April 2008

Awards for Scholarship

  • SCA Research Board's Outstanding Dissertation Award, 1972

  • SCA Golden Anniversary Book Award, for Packaging the Presidency, 1984

  • SCA's Winans-Wichelns Book Award, for Eloquence in an Electronic Age: The Transformation of Political Speechmaking, 1989

  • Douglas Ehninger Award for career contribution to rhetorical scholarship, 1990

  • Speech Communication Association's Distinguished Career in Scholarship Award, 1992

  • American Political Science Association, Political Communication Division, Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award for lifetime contribution to the study of political communications, 1995

  • Wayne Danielson Award for Distinguished Contributions to Communication Scholarship, University of Texas at Austin 1998

  • Annenberg School for Communication Award at the University of Southern California for Distinguished Scholarship, January 2000.

  • American Political Science Association's 3rd Ithiel de Sola Pool Award, 2001

Awards for Service

  • National Communication Association Presidential Citation for Outstanding Service to the Communication Discipline, 1998

Book Awards

  • Doris Graber Book Award from the American Political Science Association for Spiral of Cynicism: The Press and the Public Good (with Joseph N. Cappella), 2007

  • James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for distinguished scholarship in rhetoric and public address for Presidents Creating the Presidency: Deeds Done in Words (with Karlyn Kohrs), 2009

  • National Communication Association's Diamond Anniversary Book Award for Presidents Creating the Presidency: Deeds Done in Words (with Karlyn Kohrs), 2009

  • American Publishers Association Professional and Scholarly Excellence for The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election (with K. Kenski and B. Hardy), 2011

  • International Communication Association Outstanding Book Award for The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election (with K. Kenski and B. Hardy), 2011The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election named the winner of the American Publishers Association PROSE Award as best book in Government & Politics, 2010.

  • The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election, Rod Hart Outstanding Book Award, 2012.

  • The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election, NCA Diamond Anniversary Book Award, 2012.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson employs rhetorical analysis, surveys, and experiments to understand campaign communication, the science of science communication, and ways to blunt misinformation and conspiracy theories.
Pronouns: she/her

PDF icon Download CV (415.93 KB)

Jamieson's Network

  • Culture and Communication
  • Health Communication
  • Media and Communication Effects
  • Media Institutions and Systems
  • Political Communication
  • Annenberg Public Policy Center
  • Center for Media at Risk