"The Obama Victory," by Annenberg’s Kenski, Hardy, and Jamieson Wins ICA Book Award

The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election (Oxford 2010) by Annenberg alumni Kate Kenski, Ph.D. (Gr ’06); Bruce Hardy, Ph.D. (Gr ’10); and Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Ph.D., the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication and Director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, has won the 2011 International Communication Association Outstanding Book Award. The award honors a book published in the previous two calendar years (between January 1 and December 31). The selection committee judges each nominated book on several criteria including the importance of the problem it addresses to the fields represented in ICA and to communication studies as a whole, the quality of writing and argument, and the strength of evidence it presents. Most award-winning books address a scholarly audience, but books aimed at a general readership but satisfying the criteria for the prize are also eligible. Obama Victory authors used data from the 2008 National Annenberg Election Survey – the largest survey conducted during the presidential election by the academy – to construct their in-depth analysis of the historic 2008 presidential election. Among the book’s praise is a review by Thomas Edsall: “This book could transform the way we understand presidential campaigns,” Edsall wrote. “Kate Kenski, Bruce W. Hardy, and Kathleen Hall Jamieson give us a fascinating window into accelerating technological advances driving—and driven by—consultants and operatives over the past decade. Every assertion is backed up with an extraordinary array of statistics, facts, and figures. The authors bring forward both a huge database complete with precise information on the cost and timing of all paid media, and a meticulous study of the content of news coverage, particularly the debates. The data are presented with a political acuity that should stand as a model for all future studies." This is the second significant honor presented to the book. It also won the 2010 American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE Award) in the area of government & politics.