Mutz's Career in Political Communication Scholarship Honored by APSA

Professor Diana C. Mutz is the recipient of the 2011 Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award from the American Political Science Association’s Political Communication Section. The award, named after the late Murray Edelman, a trailblazing scholar of political science communication, was established in 1992 and is given to academic professionals whose research has had a lasting and significant impact on the field.

Mutz is the author of numerous books and academic articles. Most recently she published Hearing the Other Side: Deliberative versus Participatory Democracy (Cambridge 2006) and this year published Population-Based Survey Experiments (Princeton 2011). She also is the director of the Institute for the Study of Citizens and Politics at the Annenberg Public Policy Center, and served as Director of Innovation for the 2008 National Annenberg Election Survey. She serves as a Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution.

Mutz is the fourth member of the Annenberg faculty to receive this prestigious award. Others include Michael X. Delli Carpini, Professor of Communication and Walter H. Annenberg Dean (2008); Kathleen Hall Jamieson, the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication and Director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center (1995); and Elihu Katz, Distinguished Trustee Professor of Communication (1993). Katz received the award while with the Guttman Institute of Applied Social Research in Jerusalem, Israel.